Proos announces #SWMISpirit tournament Elite 8

Senator John Proos

Senator John Proos

LANSING, Mich. — Sen. John Proos has announced the schools that have advanced to the Elite 8 of the 2018 Southwest Michigan Spirit Tournament.

“Like the NCAA basketball tournament, this year’s spirit tournament has been extremely competitive and full of upsets,” said Proos, R-St. Joseph. “As we start the Elite 8 round, half of last year’s Final Four schools have been toppled — including the defending champion. Good luck to all the remaining schools.”

The tournament began with 31 area high schools competing in four brackets named for features that characterize Southwest Michigan. Each week, the schools with the most points move on.

“We continue to see an outstanding response from people throughout Southwest Michigan,” Proos said. “This is about giving our community a chance to show their school pride in a manner that inspires creativity and competition. In the Sweet 16 round, fans of area schools submitted more than 850 photos on Facebook and hundreds of votes in online polls.

“Congratulations to the Berrien Springs Shamrocks for earning the most points in the Sweet 16 with nearly 1,800 points. They will now face the Coloma Comets, who scored the second-most points. It should be great matchup!”

The matchups in the Elite 8 are Michigan Lutheran vs. Lake Michigan Catholic; River Valley vs. Grace Christian; Berrien Springs vs. Coloma; and Edwardsburg vs. Marcellus.

Residents are reminded that there are several ways to earn points for their favorite school, including voting in online polls or submitting unique photos about their school.

Visitors to the John Proos Supporters Page on Facebook can also upload photos and earn bonus points when others “like” their school’s photo album. Another way to earn points is to follow Proos on Twitter and send a tweet to @JohnMProos that includes the school name and the hashtag #SWMISpirit.

For complete rules and information, visit

The Elite 8 round will go through noon on Friday, March 23. The entire competition will end on Friday, April 6. The champion will receive a special tribute from the governor and area legislators commending their school and will house an engraved trophy until the following year.


Editor’s note: Audio comments by Proos will be available at