Proos announces Southwest Michigan’s Elite 8

LANSING, Mich. — Sen. John Proos has announced the schools that have advanced to the Elite 8 of the 2017 Southwest Michigan Spirit Tournament.

“We continue to see an outstanding response from people throughout Southwest Michigan to this school spirit tournament,” said Proos, R-St. Joseph. “In the spirit of March Madness, this is about giving our community a chance to show their school pride in a manner that inspires creativity and competition. I am proud to see school spirit captured many different ways, such as students in choir, band and sports and the families of students cheering them on.”

The tournament began with 31 area high schools competing in four brackets named for features that characterize Southwest Michigan. Each week, the schools with the most points move on.

“We are down to the Elite 8,” Proos said. “The Sweet 16 round will be hard to top. We saw fans of area schools submitting more than 1,000 photos on social media, hundreds of votes in Twitter polls and more than 54,000 Facebook likes.

“Congratulations to the Marcellus Wildcats for earning the most points in the Sweet 16. They will now face the Coloma Comets, who scored the most points in the first round. It should be great matchup!”

The matchups in the Elite 8 are Bridgman vs. Michigan Lutheran; Watervliet vs. Brandywine; Centreville vs. Three Rivers; and Marcellus vs. Coloma.

Residents are reminded that there are several ways to earn points for their favorite school, including voting in online polls or submitting unique photos about their school.

Visitors who like the John Proos Supporters Page on Facebook can also upload and earn bonus points when others “like” the photo. Another way to earn points is to follow Senator John Proos on Twitter and send a tweet to @JohnMProos that includes the school name and the hashtag #SWMISpirit.

For complete rules and information, visit the Spirit Tournament page on Proos’ Senate website at

The Elite 8 round will go through noon on Friday, April 7. The entire competition will end on Friday, April 21. The champion will receive a special tribute from the governor and area legislators commending their school and will house an engraved trophy until the following year.